Election information for voters residing in the 11th Congressional District

Election information for voters residing in the 11th Congressional District

(Plain Press, July 2021)       A special Congressional Primary Election will be held on August 3, 2021 in the 11th Congressional District for the seat that opened up due to the appointment of former Congressional Representative Marcia Fudge to be the United States Secretary of the Department of Housing and Urban Development. 

   In the City of Cleveland all of wards 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 and 15 are in the 11th Congressional District. Parts of wards 11, 12 and 14 are also in the 11th Congressional District. In addition to the part of the district in the City of Cleveland, the 11th Congressional District includes most of the eastern suburbs in Cuyahoga County and stretches south through Newburgh Heights, Cuyahoga Heights, Brooklyn Heights, and Seven Hills into parts of Summit County.

   Registered voters, who identify with the Democratic or Republican party, and reside in the 11th Congressional District will be asked to choose a candidate to represent their political party in the general election.

   As of June 23, 2021, there are 422,226 registered voters in the 11th Congressional District. 95,915 have previously declared themselves to be Democrats. 15,817 have previously declared themselves to be Republicans. The remainder are nonpartisan (310,429 voters) or members of a minor party (65 voters). To declare yourself a member of a political party, you simply need to request a ballot for that political party in the primary election.

   In the Democratic Primary you can choose one of thirteen candidates. In alphabetical order, the congressional candidates in the Democratic Primary are Martin Alexander, John E. Barnes Jr., James Jerome Bell, Shontel Brown, Seth J. Corey, Jeff Johnson, Will Knight, Pamela M. Pinkney, Isaac Powell, Lateek Shabazz, Tariq K. Shabazz, Shirley Smith, and Nina Turner.

   In the Republican Primary, the congressional candidates are Laverne Gore and Felicia Washington Ross.

   If you live in the 11th Congressional District and are not yet registered to vote or need to submit a change of address, you have until July 6 to submit your voter registration form in order to be able to vote in the August 3 Primary. For more information or to obtain a voter registration form visit the Cuyahoga County Board of Elections website at: www.boe.cuyahogacounty.gov.

   Early voting begins on July 7. Early in person voting hours at the Cuyahoga County Board of Elections, 2925 Euclid Avenue are: Weekdays, July 7 – July 23, from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Weekdays, July 26-July 30, from 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturday, July 31, from 8 a.m. – 4 p.m.; Sunday, August 1, from 1 – 5 p.m.; and Monday, August 7, from 8 a.m. -2 p.m. 

   On Election Day, August 3, polls will be open from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. If you are not sure where your polling place is located, you can go to the Cuyahoga County Board of Elections website and click on the heading “Where do I vote?”.

   Voters can also choose to use a Federal Write-in Absentee Ballot (FWAB). The ballots are available 46 days prior to the August 3 Primary Election at www.fvap.gov. To vote absentee you must follow the instructions to complete the Voter Declaration/Affirmation. You can print out the ballot and write in the name of the candidate you choose or complete the process electronically using the website’s FWAB Wizard. When completed mail the printed ballot to the Cuyahoga County Board of Elections at 2925 Euclid Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44115. Absentee ballots from anywhere in the United States must be postmarked by August 2, 2021 and received by the Board of Elections by August 13th.  Oversees absentee ballots can be postmarked by August 3; and must be receive by August 13 to be counted. If you are turning in your absentee ballot in person at the Board of Elections, you must do it by Election Day, August 3, by 7:30 p.m., for your vote to be counted.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: